The Notebook

'Imagination will take you everywhere'

Pastures New

For me, this September won’t just mark the tail-end of a gorgeously sun-drenched summer. It will mark both a beginning and an end. I will be bidding adieu to the lush green landscape of my upbringing and making the big bad city of London my semi-permanent home. To say it will be a culture shock is a bit of an understatement. The familiar sounds of birdsong and the distant moooo of cows will be replaced with roaring car engines and blaring horns. While sky-high tower blocks will make a distinct change from the rolling fields of Oxfordshire. Pastures new indeed.

It will be a massive leap out of my comfort zone, but that’s what growing up and becoming independent is all about. It’ll be hard, tough and absolutely terrifying, yet liberating and exciting at the same time. Whenever I feel homesick I’ll simply imagine the sound of the breeze whispering through the trees, the smell of the un-polluted fresh air, the feeling of the long grass caressing my legs as I weave my way through the crop field – our Labrador running ahead. But for now the summer sun is high in the sky, so I’m making the most of my time in the countryside with long walks, bike rides and jogs – not forgetting the obligatory picnic. I’ve often taken the lovely surrounding landscape for granted, but now I appreciate the tranquillity and peace. I will never forget what it feels like to have such breath-taking vistas on my doorstep. Besides, home is just a train ride away (albeit an expensive one), and I know that whenever I come back, our dog will be waiting with baited breath for a run through the fields.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 27, 2014 by in Personal, Photography and tagged , , , , , .
