The Notebook

'Imagination will take you everywhere'

A Cornish Seascape

Almost finished…

‘I have blundered into a Garden of Eden that cannot be described in pen or paint’ was how H.V. Morton described Cornwall. I, however, went against his word and tried to describe the county’s dramatic coastline through the medium of paint. Was I doomed to failure? Hopefully not as this painting is the final piece for my A2 Art Coursework. Inspired by the ethereal depictions of the ocean by John Lavery, which exude tranquility and serenity, my main goal was to convey my personal connection with the rugged coast of Cornwall.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Finished!!

For as long as I can remember, our family have spent many holidays in the county of sea, sand and surf; partly because of relatives that live there, but mostly because we simply love the place. I can recall vivid memories of long, narrow, winding lanes (not pleasant for someone who experiences travel sickness) to undiscovered coves and tiny fishing villages. I still experience the heady delight when I first encounter that smell of seaweed which fills my nostrils, the splash of the tide on my feet (or in my wellies), the salty wind on my skin. I always feel invigorated after a week in Cornwall, like I’ve been rejuvenated, with a spring in my step and a healthy glow to my cheeks. I wanted to make viewers of my painting experience this nostalgia and reminisce about their own childhood holidays.

I hope I’ve captured the indescribable magic which Cornwall possesses. Maybe I’ve even proved H.V. Morton wrong.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

5 comments on “A Cornish Seascape

  1. Chillbrook
    February 3, 2013

    You’ve captured Bedruthan Steps brilliantly! The very best of luck with your A2! :-)

    • Jessie Williams
      February 6, 2013

      Thank you very much!! It’s one of my favourite beaches :)

  2. woodentaste
    February 9, 2013

    A really delicate and penetrating site.Good work!!!

  3. aledbrynyn williams
    March 6, 2013

    Wonderful artwork Jessie, good luck in your finals.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 3, 2013 by in Art, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 190 other followers

